Greenhouse alternatives

Seven applicant tracking systems teams look at instead of Greenhouse, with each vendor's published price, the plan where interview scorecards start, and what it publishes about API and agent access. Every fact was read off the vendor's own page on September 3, 2026. Yardstick is our product and is one of the seven.

Start with what Greenhouse publishes.

Greenhouse sells three tiers, Core, Plus, and Pro, and publishes no price for any of them. Its pricing page says the cost depends on the plan you choose, your hiring volume and organizational complexity, and the features you need.

Structured interview kits and scorecards, interview question suggestions, scorecard attribute suggestions, and AI Notetaker are on every tier. Plus adds AI-powered report filters, a BI Connector, Sourcing Automation, texting, and email automation. Pro adds enterprise data configuration and security, an audit log, and a developer sandbox.

Greenhouse MCP, in open beta, lets Site Admins connect approved AI tools such as Claude and ChatGPT with read and write access on Core, Plus, and Pro. The Harvest API exports data, updates candidates, and moves applications.

How to read this list.

  1. 1Every fact is from the vendor's own page, read on September 3, 2026.Where a vendor's page does not state something, the entry says so instead of guessing.
  2. 2The list is grouped, not ranked.Vendors that publish a price come first, alphabetically, then vendors that quote, alphabetically. Position says nothing about quality.
  3. 3"Scorecards from" is the plan where the vendor lists structured interviews or scorecards.It is the tier you actually need if that is what you came for.
  4. 4Yardstick is our product.It is one row, held to the same columns as the others, and it is the only row we can speak for from the inside.

The seven, grouped by whether the price is on the page.

Publish a price

  • AshbyPublished entry price for companies up to 100 employees; interview plans and API on every plan

    Best for: teams under 100 people who want sourcing, scheduling, offers, and analytics in one product with a price they can read.

    • Foundations: $400 a month for up to 100 employees; 10% discount for annual commitments. Plus (101 to 1,000 employees) and Enterprise (1,000 and up) priced on company size, usage, and commitment.
    • Customizable interview plans and structured interviewing on every plan. The ATS page describes custom feedback forms and interviewer instructions.
    • Public developer API on every plan.
    • AI runs on credits: 1,500 a month on Foundations. Ashby Assistant, a chat-based agent inside Ashby, is an opt-in open beta; every action prompts for review before it runs.

    Watch-out: Foundations caps sourcing lookups at 200, SMS at 1,000 a month, and offer templates at one.

  • JazzHRAnnual plans from $1,000 a year; structured interviews start on the second plan

    Best for: small teams hiring for a few roles at a time on an annual plan.

    • Hero $1,000 a year, Plus $3,480 a year, Pro $5,508 a year, billed annually.
    • Hero starts at 3 job postings a month; Plus allows up to 200 active jobs.
    • Structured Interviews & Assessments from Plus.

    Watch-out: The pricing page we checked does not mention an API, and every plan is billed annually.

  • WorkablePublished monthly and annual prices by employee band; interview kits, scorecards, and API on every plan

    Best for: teams that want the entry plan to include the scorecard and the API, and can live with metered AI.

    • Standard $299 a month or $3,588 a year; Premier $599 a month or $7,188 a year; Enterprise $719 a month or $8,628 a year, priced by employee band.
    • Interview kits and scorecards and API access on every plan.
    • Every paid account starts with 3,000 free AI credits; packs run $0.095 to $0.12 a credit.
    • 15-day trial of the Standard plan, no credit card required.

    Watch-out: AI credit packs expire after a year and are non-refundable.

  • YardstickInterview designed for the role, agent-operable on every account, priced per open role

    Best for: teams where the hiring manager owns the interview loop and wants to pay per open role, not per seat.

    • The AI designs the interview guide and scorecard for the role, so every candidate has the same important conversation and is scored on the same scale. Your team edits both and makes every hiring decision.
    • First three Jobs free. Core $49 a month plus $29 per open role; Scale $149 a month plus $19 per open role. No seat charges for interviewers or hiring managers.
    • Public API, CLI, and MCP on every account, including free. You chat with Claude Code or Codex, it runs the yardstick CLI, and publishing a job, advancing or rejecting a candidate, or emailing one waits for your approval.
    • Imports a Greenhouse export, preview first.

    Watch-out: A structured-interview ATS with a talent CRM built in, not an HR suite. SSO, SCIM, and advanced audit logs are on the Enterprise plan. For the same question asked of interview tooling specifically, see the best structured interview software.

Quote on request

  • LeverBase platform plus add-ons, priced on request; public API docs

    Best for: teams that want AI interview transcripts and screening inside the ATS and are set up to take a quote.

    • Pricing available upon request; sold as a base platform with add-ons (Candidate Insights, AI Screening by VONQ, Onboarding).
    • Unlimited AI interview transcripts and summaries, AI-powered screening, and AI-powered fraud prevention signals listed on the pricing page.
    • Public developer documentation with the API root at api.lever.co/v1; audit events are an add-on.

    Watch-out: The pricing page we checked does not address interview scorecards.

  • PinpointQuote after a conversation; candidate scorecards and an open API

    Best for: organizations that want candidate scorecards and an open API and are set up to take a quote.

    • Pricing comes after a short conversation about your company and hiring process.
    • Candidate scorecards listed.
    • Over 100 native integrations plus an open API.
    • AI Candidate Companion, AI Candidate Filters, AI Criteria Checklist, AI Match Score, AI Hiring Copilot, and AI Notetaker listed.

    Watch-out: No price, term, or trial on the pages we checked.

  • Recruitee (Tellent)Three plans on a one-year minimum; feedback and scoring templates from the second plan

    Best for: teams that want API access on the entry plan and can commit for a year.

    • Start, Advance, and Optimize plans, priced on request; minimum commitment of one year, payable monthly, with a 20% discount for annual payment.
    • Templates for feedback and scoring from Advance.
    • API access on Start; API support and a testing environment on higher plans.
    • AI: email and feedback writing on Start; Screening Assistant (100 credits a month) and Matching Assistant (3 searches a month) on Advance; more on Optimize.

    Watch-out: The one-year minimum applies even if you pay monthly.

Side by side, as published on September 3, 2026.

The table scrolls sideways on a phone.

AlternativePublished priceScorecards fromPublic APIAgent access and AI, as published
Greenhouse (reference)Not published; Core, Plus, Pro quotedCore (every tier)Harvest APIGreenhouse MCP, open beta, Site Admins, read and write, on every tier
AshbyFoundations $400/month up to 100 employees; Plus and Enterprise quotedFoundations (every plan)Every planAshby Assistant, in-product agent, opt-in open beta, review before each action
JazzHRHero $1,000/yr; Plus $3,480/yr; Pro $5,508/yrPlusNot mentioned on the pricing page we checkedNot mentioned on the page we checked
WorkableStandard $299/month or $3,588/yr; Premier $599/month; Enterprise $719/monthStandard (every plan)Every planAI credits: 3,000 free on every paid account, then packs at $0.095 to $0.12 a credit
YardstickFirst 3 Jobs free; Core $49/month + $29 per open role; Scale $149/month + $19 per open roleFree (every account)Every account, plus CLI and MCPYour own agent (Claude Code, Codex, or Claude/ChatGPT over MCP) runs it; approval gate on the actions that matter
LeverOn requestNot addressed on the pricing page we checkedPublic docs, api.lever.co/v1Not published beyond the API
PinpointOn request, after a conversationCandidate scorecards listed (plan not stated)Open APIIn-product AI features (Copilot, Notetaker, Match Score); nothing beyond the open API on the pages we checked
RecruiteeOn request; one-year minimumAdvanceStartAI Screening Assistant and Matching Assistant credits by plan

If you are moving off Greenhouse.

Export first. Greenhouse's Harvest API exports your data, and whichever alternative you pick, you want the candidates, jobs, and scorecards out before the contract ends.

Check the scorecard tier before the price. Three of the seven put scorecards on the entry plan, Pinpoint lists them without naming a plan, and two start them one plan up. If structured interviews are what you are keeping, the entry price is not your price on those two.

Yardstick imports a Greenhouse export preview-first: you or your agent see exactly what will be written to your account before anything is. The steps are at switch from Greenhouse.

Weighing two of these against each other? Greenhouse and Ashby are lined up on their own at Greenhouse vs Ashby. Yardstick's own comparisons are Yardstick vs Greenhouse and Yardstick vs Ashby. For eight ATS prices on one page, see the ATS pricing comparison, and full Yardstick pricing is on the pricing page.

Common questions about Greenhouse alternatives.

What is the best alternative to Greenhouse?

We do not name one. The seven here differ on the things you can check today: whether the price is published (Ashby, JazzHR, Workable, and Yardstick publish; Lever, Pinpoint, and Recruitee quote), which plan includes scorecards, and what the vendor publishes about API and agent access. Pick the column that matters to you and read down it.

Is there a free alternative to Greenhouse?

Yardstick's first three Jobs are free, with scorecards, the public API, CLI, and MCP included. Workable publishes a 15-day trial of its Standard plan with no credit card. Ashby, JazzHR, and Pinpoint publish no free plan or trial on the pages we checked; Lever and Recruitee quote.

Which Greenhouse alternatives publish their pricing?

Ashby (Foundations, $400 a month for up to 100 employees), JazzHR (from $1,000 a year), Workable (from $299 a month), and Yardstick (from $49 a month plus $29 per open role, after three free Jobs). Lever, Pinpoint, and Recruitee quote.

Which alternatives include interview scorecards on the entry plan?

Ashby (interview plans and structured interviewing on Foundations), Workable (interview kits and scorecards on Standard), and Yardstick (on the free account). Pinpoint lists candidate scorecards without a plan. JazzHR starts structured interviews at Plus and Recruitee starts feedback and scoring templates at Advance. Lever's pricing page does not address scorecards.

Can an AI agent operate these systems?

Six of the seven publish some path. Ashby, Lever, Pinpoint, Recruitee, and Workable publish a public API. Ashby also has Ashby Assistant, an agent inside Ashby in open beta. Yardstick puts a public API, a CLI, and MCP on every account, so you can chat with Claude Code or Codex and have it run the yardstick CLI, with the actions that matter waiting for your approval. Greenhouse itself has Greenhouse MCP in open beta.

How current is this list?

Every fact was read from the vendor's own pricing, product, or documentation page on September 3, 2026. We recheck quarterly. If a vendor's page and this page disagree, the vendor's page wins.

Want the interview designed for the role, and your own agent running the admin?

Start free. The first three Jobs are free, no seats to count, and the public API, CLI, and MCP are on from day one. Your Greenhouse export imports preview-first.