Ashby alternatives

Seven alternatives to Ashby, with each vendor's price, minimum term, and the plan where structured interviewing starts, all taken from the vendors' own pages on September 9, 2026. Yardstick is our product and is one of the seven.

What Ashby costs.

Ashby's Foundations plan is $400 a month for companies up to 100 employees. Plus (101 to 1,000 employees) and Enterprise (1,000 and up) are quoted on company size, usage, and commitment. An annual commitment gets 10% off, and no minimum term is published.

Customizable interview plans and structured interviewing, with interviewer instructions and feedback forms, are on every Ashby plan, including Foundations. So are API access and an MCP server that connects tools such as ChatGPT, Claude, and Cursor to your Ashby data. AI runs on credits: 1,500 a month on Foundations. Ashby's pricing page does not publish a free tier or a trial.

Use that as your baseline. Each alternative below is described the same way, so you can put Ashby's quote next to what each one publishes.

How this list works.

  1. 1Every fact is from the vendor's own page, checked on September 9, 2026.Where a vendor's page does not state something, the entry says so instead of guessing.
  2. 2The list is grouped, not ranked.Vendors that publish a price come first, alphabetically, then vendors that quote, alphabetically. Position says nothing about quality.
  3. 3"Structured interviewing from" is the plan where the vendor lists interview guides, kits, or scorecards.It is the tier you actually need if that is what you came for, and on three of the seven it is not the entry tier.
  4. 4Yardstick is our product.It is one row, held to the same columns as the others, and it is the only row we can speak for from the inside.

The seven alternatives

Publish a price

  • Breezy HRFree tier for one open position, flat company plans from $157 a month; interview guides and scorecards start on the middle tier

    Best for: a small company hiring one or two roles at a time that wants a flat monthly price with no per-user math.

    • Breezy HR's Bootstrap plan is free and allows one active position or candidate pool at a time, with unlimited users. Breezy HR's paid plans are Startup at $157 a month, Growth at $273 a month, and Business at $439 a month on annual billing, or $189, $329, and $529 a month billed monthly. A Custom Pro plan is quoted.
    • Breezy HR bills per company, not per user or per job. Monthly and annual billing are both offered, and the page we checked publishes a 14-day trial with no credit card; it does not publish a minimum term.
    • Customizable interview guides and customizable scorecards start on Breezy HR's Growth plan, the middle paid tier.
    • API access is listed on Breezy HR's Custom Pro plan only.

    Watch-out: The interview structure you would buy an ATS for starts at Breezy HR's Growth plan, $273 a month, not on the free or Startup tiers. Breezy against JazzHR, line by line, is on our Breezy vs JazzHR page.

  • JazzHRAnnual plans from $1,000 a year; structured interviews start on the second plan

    Best for: small teams hiring for a few roles at a time on an annual plan.

    • JazzHR's Hero plan is $1,000 a year, Plus is $3,480 a year, and Pro is $5,508 a year, each billed annually.
    • JazzHR bills a flat annual fee with a posting allowance: Hero starts at 3 job postings a month and Plus allows up to 200 active jobs. Every published plan is billed annually.
    • Structured Interviews and Assessments start on JazzHR's Plus plan.

    Watch-out: Every JazzHR plan is billed annually, so the yearly figure is the price you commit to.

  • WorkableThree published tiers priced by employee band, from $299 a month; interview kits, scorecards, and API on every plan

    Best for: teams that want a published monthly price with interview kits and API access on the entry plan and can read their own employee band.

    • At 1 to 20 employees, Workable's Standard plan is $299 a month or $3,588 a year, Premier is $599 a month or $7,188 a year, and Enterprise is $719 a month or $8,628 a year. Workable prices by employee band, and the figures here are the 1 to 20 band.
    • Workable bills monthly or annually and publishes no minimum term. Workable publishes a 15-day trial of the Standard plan with no credit card required.
    • Interview kits and scorecards are on every Workable plan, including Standard.
    • API access is on every Workable plan, and every plan starts with 3,000 free AI credits.

    Watch-out: Workable's price moves with your employee band, so read the band you expect to be in next year, not the one you are in today. The two-way view is on our Ashby vs Workable page.

  • YardstickAI-designed interview guide for each role, agent-operable on every account, priced per open role

    Best for: teams where the hiring manager owns the interview loop and wants to pay per open role, not by employee band.

    • The AI designs the interview guide and scorecard for the role, so every candidate has the same important conversation and is scored on the same scale. Your team edits both and makes every hiring decision.
    • Yardstick's first three Jobs are free. Yardstick's Core plan is $49 a month plus $29 per open role; Scale is $149 a month plus $19 per open role. Billed monthly on open roles, with no minimum term and no seat charges for interviewers or hiring managers, who open their scorecards on magic links.
    • Public API, CLI, and MCP on every Yardstick account, including free. You chat with Claude Code or Codex, it runs the yardstick CLI, and publishing a job, advancing or rejecting a candidate, or emailing one waits for your approval.
    • Your Ashby export goes in through the preview-first importer: your agent converts it, the dry run shows every row, and you approve before anything is written.

    Watch-out: A structured-interview ATS with a talent CRM built in, not an HR suite. SSO, SCIM, and advanced audit logs are on the Enterprise plan. For the same question asked of interview tooling specifically, see the best structured interview software.

Quote on request

  • GreenhouseThree tiers priced on request; structured interview kits and scorecards on every tier

    Best for: teams heading toward enterprise process that want interview kits and scorecards on the entry tier and are set up to take a quote.

    • Greenhouse does not publish a price. Its pricing page says pricing is customized based on your company's hiring needs, across the Core, Plus, and Pro tiers.
    • Greenhouse publishes no billing basis, minimum term, or trial on the pricing page we checked.
    • Structured interview kits and scorecards are on every Greenhouse tier, including Core.
    • A developer sandbox and sandbox sync are listed on Greenhouse's Pro tier.

    Watch-out: No price, term, or trial on the Greenhouse page we checked. The same seven-way view from the other side is on our Greenhouse alternatives page.

  • LeverPriced on request; AI interview transcripts and summaries on the pricing page, scorecard tier not stated

    Best for: teams that want AI interview transcripts and screening inside the ATS and are set up to take a quote.

    • Lever does not publish a price. Its pricing page says pricing is available upon request and tailored to your organization's size and hiring needs.
    • Lever publishes no billing basis, minimum term, or trial on the pricing page we checked.
    • Lever's pricing page lists unlimited AI interview transcripts and summaries, AI-powered screening, and AI-powered fraud prevention signals, with Candidate Insights, AI Screening by VONQ, and Onboarding sold as add-ons.

    Watch-out: The Lever pricing page we checked does not say which plan carries interview scorecards or feedback forms, so that is a question for the call. Seven systems read the same way from the Lever side are on our Lever alternatives page.

  • Recruitee (Tellent)Three plans on a one-year minimum; feedback and scoring templates from the second plan

    Best for: teams that want API access on the entry plan and can commit for a year.

    • Recruitee does not publish a price for its Start, Advance, and Optimize plans. A free trial is offered.
    • Recruitee's contracts have a minimum commitment of one year, payable monthly, with a 20% discount for annual payment.
    • Structured evaluation forms, with templates for feedback and scoring, start on Recruitee's Advance plan.
    • API access is on Recruitee's Start plan; API support and a testing environment are on Optimize.

    Watch-out: Recruitee's one-year minimum applies even if you pay monthly.

Side by side, as published on September 9, 2026.

The table scrolls sideways on a phone.

AlternativePublished priceBilled onMinimum termStructured interviewing from
Ashby (reference)Foundations $400/month up to 100 employees; Plus and Enterprise quotedCompany size bandNot published; 10% off for an annual commitmentFoundations (every plan)
Breezy HRFree for one position; Startup $157/month, Growth $273/month, Business $439/month on annual billing ($189, $329, $529 monthly)Per companyMonthly or annual; no minimum publishedGrowth
JazzHRHero $1,000/yr; Plus $3,480/yr; Pro $5,508/yrFlat annual fee with a posting allowanceOne year, billed annuallyPlus
WorkableStandard $299/month or $3,588/yr; Premier $599/month or $7,188/yr; Enterprise $719/month or $8,628/yr at 1 to 20 employeesEmployee bandMonthly or annual; no minimum publishedStandard (every plan)
YardstickFirst 3 Jobs free; Core $49/month + $29 per open role; Scale $149/month + $19 per open roleOpen roles; no seat chargesNone, billed monthlyFree (every account)
GreenhouseNot published; Core, Plus, Pro quotedNot publishedNot publishedCore (every tier)
LeverNot published; available upon requestNot publishedNot publishedNot stated on the pricing page
RecruiteeNot published; Start, Advance, Optimize quotedNot published; 20% off for annual paymentOne year, payable monthlyAdvance

If you are moving off Ashby.

Export first. Ashby publishes API access on every plan. Whichever alternative you pick, you want the candidates, jobs, and applications out while the account is still active.

Check the structured-interviewing tier before the price. Ashby puts interview plans on every plan, and three of the seven here start them above the entry plan. If structured interviews are what you are keeping, the entry price is not your price on those three.

Check the term next. Two of the seven commit you for a year, and Ashby and Workable both price by company size. Yardstick bills monthly on open roles: $49 a month plus $29 per open role, and a role you close stops billing the next month, with interviewers on magic links rather than paid seats.

Your Ashby export goes into Yardstick preview-first: your agent converts it for the importer, and you or your agent see exactly what will be written to your account before anything is. The import path is at switching to Yardstick. Yardstick's own comparison is Yardstick vs Ashby. The same seven-way view from the Workable side is at Workable alternatives. For eight ATS prices on one page, see the ATS pricing comparison, and full Yardstick pricing is on the pricing page.

Common questions about Ashby alternatives.

What is the best alternative to Ashby?

We do not name one. The seven here differ on the things you can check today: whether the price is published (Breezy HR, JazzHR, Workable, and Yardstick publish; Greenhouse, Lever, and Recruitee quote), what the bill is based on, whether there is a minimum term, and which plan includes structured interviewing. Pick the column that matters to you and read down it.

Is there a free alternative to Ashby?

Two of the seven publish a free tier. Yardstick's first three Jobs are free, with the AI-designed interview guide, scorecards, the public API, CLI, and MCP included. Breezy HR's Bootstrap plan is free for one active position or candidate pool at a time, with interview guides and scorecards starting on its Growth plan at $273 a month. Ashby's pricing page does not publish a free tier or a trial.

Which Ashby alternatives publish their pricing?

Breezy HR (from $157 a month on annual billing after a free tier), JazzHR (from $1,000 a year), Workable (from $299 a month at 1 to 20 employees), and Yardstick (from $49 a month plus $29 per open role, after three free Jobs). Greenhouse, Lever, and Recruitee quote. Ashby itself publishes Foundations at $400 a month for companies up to 100 employees, with Plus and Enterprise quoted.

Which alternatives have a minimum term?

JazzHR bills every plan annually, and Recruitee's contracts carry a one-year minimum even when paid monthly. Ashby publishes a 10% discount for an annual commitment but publishes no minimum. Breezy HR and Workable offer monthly and annual billing. Yardstick bills monthly on open roles with no minimum term. Greenhouse and Lever publish no term.

Which alternatives include structured interviewing on the entry plan?

Greenhouse (interview kits and scorecards on Core), Workable (interview kits and scorecards on Standard), and Yardstick (on the free account), the same place Ashby puts interview plans and structured interviewing. Breezy HR starts interview guides and scorecards at Growth, JazzHR starts structured interviews at Plus, and Recruitee starts feedback and scoring templates at Advance. Lever's pricing page does not say.

How current is this list?

Every fact was read from the vendor's own pricing page on September 9, 2026. We recheck quarterly. If a vendor's page and this page disagree, the vendor's page wins.

Want the interview designed for the role, and your own agent running the admin?

Start free. The first three Jobs are free, no seats to count, and the public API, CLI, and MCP are on from day one. Your Ashby export imports preview-first.